Off The Shoulder Top-Women Over 40

 

They’re so flattering.   They’re elegant.  They’re super cute.  Here is my thought process:

Function

Where will I wear an off the shoulder top?  Girls’ night, date night, outdoor concert.  I’m a little conservative of a dresser to wear one to work or church or to weed my fake flowers in.  So, my price point was low.  I just can’t spend alot of money on something I’d only wear once a year.  I want it to be easy with low maintenance, and I want to feel confident!

Practicality

These tops feel like a strapless dress, but they can be a bit fussy if the sleeves keep sliding up.  On a strapless top, you keep pulling things up; on an off the shoulder top you pull things down.  In my YouTube video you can see how one slides up very easily.  Here is my favorite from Dillard’s.  It’s sold out, but it’s in stores for $17 on clearance!!!  It looks much better in my YouTube Video. IMG_5237

The Outcome

Shopping for a great Off the Shoulder Top was probably harder than bathing suit and jeans shopping combined!  And I’m a positive thinker.  They’re very flattering, but finding one for you is quite a task.  Here are my sad ones.

IMG_5150
Not flattering even tucked in.  Looks kinda cheap too.

 

IMG_5140
Michael Kors in size Small!  See how it doesn’t lay right?  Yes, I have on a bra.
IMG_5143
Okay fit but dated fabric.  But you never know; so take all options into the dressing room with you.

Dillard’s and Nordstrom are where I found success.  This awesome one is from Nordstrom and I recommend wearing dark denim with it and big earrings. IMG_5229

If you watch the YouTube above, you’ll see how they drape when I walk.  It looks much better in the video.  Since the draping is great, I feel confident in this top.  And confidence makes any outfit POP!  This gal has killer options if you want to explore this look. And as always, Jolynne nails it.

When it comes down to it, I don’t think I’ll wear this style b/c I’m too plain Jane and low maintenance.  But, this style is possible if you’re over 40 and if you feel comfortable.

***You may want to watch my other video to help you Shop Your Closet

I am linking up with Fashion Should Be Fun.

CONGRATULATIONS to Lynn for winning the tassel necklace!

Rules for the Giveaway:

  1.  Subscribe to my LauriePOP YouTube Channel.
  2.  Click on the thumbs up while watching the Off the Shoulder Video on YouTube.
  3.  Leave a comment here on my blog below.  You may have to keep scrolling to leave a comment.
  4.   You have until July 31 to do these three things.              IMG_5235

Follow my Pinterest pages sometime.  Or be my friend on Instagram.  Thanks for POPping over!

 

14 thoughts on “Off The Shoulder Top-Women Over 40

    1. LYNN! You won the tassel necklace! Congratulations! I hope you love the necklace. Contact me by Monday to receive your prize. You can message me on my Facebook page LauriePOP Where Ideas POP or leave me a message here. Thanks for POPping over to my blog and YouTube channel! Laurie

      Like

  1. You look great, but totally understand that it’s not a look that everyone is comfortable in no matter how great you look. I know it’s not for me, but really enjoyed the video review.

    Like

    1. Lisa, thanks for making that link up available on your site! I linked up earlier and then went to comment on the previous person’s blog and couldn’t find my post. So I did it again. New at this. Thanks for the grace:)

      Like

  2. Lisa, thanks for making that link up available on your site! I linked up earlier and then went to comment on the previous person’s blog and couldn’t find my post. So I did it again. New at this. Thanks for the grace 🙂

    Like

  3. Love this shirt Laurie and it looks great on you. I’m not always confident enough to wear things like this but it looks so cute on you, I think I’ll try !

    Like

Leave a Reply

