4 Kimono Outfit Ideas – Hits and Misses

My YouTube video above shows these looks even better.

Visions of Robin Williams in the movie Birdcage POPped in my head when I tried on my first ever kimono.   The Sugar Cubes call kimonos the “star of the outfit.”  I’ve been hesitant and am now excited to try this trend.   Dorothy reassured me that kimonos are a girl’s best friend.

For reference I’m 5’8″ and a size 8-10. Here is what kimono outfit ideas worked and what outfits didn’t work for me.

Kimono #1 – – – – Missed the boat with these two

DSC_1409        DSC_1368

Much better:

DSC_1417

DSC_1412

 

Kimono #2 —–Although peach totally matches, I’m washed out.  And see how the tank cuts my length?

Much better versions:

DSC_1420DSC_1424

The fuschia blends so nicely, and elongates my look b/c of the loose, skimming tank.  The blue tee drapes me better than the tank and lets the kimono shine-o.

And I love this mix of patterns!!! IMG_5551

Third Kimono:  Not so good-o

Much better:

DSC_1432DSC_1426

My favorite kimono ended up not photographing like I thought.  Francesca’s black graphic tee and the loose tank look better with this kimono.

 

If at first you don’t succeed, try try again with a graphic tee shirt, right?

 

Take a picture of yourself and assess the outfit.  It takes 5 seconds…or forever if you ask my 11 year old.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#4 Kimono – It’s OK-o

9B470C6A-FD6F-4A87-BABE-6378BE91A37B

Polka dots get me every time, especially if put with stripes!!  I like how the kimono is the same length as the shorts.  And see how the look totally changes with jean cut offs?  You could also roll them up if fringed is too teeny bopper for you.

IMG_5543IMG_5545

You can see the frontal version of this kimono outfit on my LauriePOP YouTube channel above.

I’m linking up to Shelbee On the EdgeSheelago , Two Thirty Five Designs and JoLynne ShaneFashion Should Be Fun, A Pocketful Of Polka Dots and The Thrifty Couple.

Friend me on Instagram or Pinterest and share your own kimono outfit ideas hits or misses with me.

 

 

7 thoughts on “4 Kimono Outfit Ideas – Hits and Misses

  1. Laurie, you are so adorable! I love all of your kimonos! I need to add more to my closet but I can’t seem to find any that I like. I really like the second one with the striped shirt. I think that was one of my favorite ways that I had styled my butterfly kimono…with a striped tee. The pattern play is perfect! Thanks for linking up with me!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My first kimono was more of what I describe as ‘shawl’ style- with long black fringe, big red, black, green muted florals. It was a $ splurge & score, of which I still ‘boast’. LOVE at first site. I still wear it while adding several more style, versions. lengths. my motto is- FASHION is FUN. try it til you love it. Glad to find some fellow fun fashionistas. 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, I loved this post! So fun to see the many ways you have styled your collection of kimonos. I enjoy wearing kimonos and am always keeping an eye open for new ones. Thanks for the different style inspiration and linking up this past week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

